Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

19/05/18

Retweetd From Schools Week

Teacher of Science required https://t.co/0Pqs4r3EJ0

18/05/18

Retweetd From HarrisSchoolDirect

That’s it for another week. Next week we’ll be ready to meet more people who want to . Will you be among them? https://t.co/hEJ9VwG5n5

18/05/18

Retweetd From Harris Careers

Fantastic achievement from . Could you be the PE Teacher to continue the academy's success? ttps://careers.harrisfederation.org.uk/vacancy/teacher-of-girls-pe-349667.html https://t.co/JxgztNnz1P

18/05/18

V proud. Only Round 1 but a stunning opening performance

18/05/18

Retweetd From V&A

Can’t wait another 4 weeks until ‘Frida Kahlo: Making Her Self Up’ opens? Read about Frida’s most loved posessions that are on their way to the V&A after being locked away for half a century. ? https://t.co/HuPgZqD9H9 https://t.co/8xc25llEXx

18/05/18

English Schools Cup - Round 1 Our athletes put in great performances, but these two from U13 & U15 boys were a highlight. Superb & significant for a state school to attain such victories https://t.co/vPK6gI7vY7

17/05/18

Retweetd From Harris Careers

Are you looking for a Teacher of English with responsibility for KS5 role? Apply now https://t.co/BPwqXLdYlN https://t.co/rUdwTlHoK2

17/05/18

We end our day with reflections on Joseph Heller. One of Mr Soar's favourite novels and one of most influential in the world. https://t.co/H5vbi5hus8 https://t.co/ipK6zUPfIe

17/05/18

Lively intellectual year 7 debates today and on genetic modification. They were stunning. https://t.co/bYJNEMbFMa

17/05/18

Year 9 learning about the future of engineering of bionic limbs https://t.co/uslvF3kW3G

17/05/18

Year 9 learning now about engineering our future https://t.co/nC9CZzijzL

17/05/18

Retweetd From Louise Martin

Students and staff from enjoying an lunch in the sunshine https://t.co/8UylXxC2Uh

17/05/18

Year 9 exploring the moon landings https://t.co/DD6z33hOrH

17/05/18

Beautiful little moving image display about "Who are you?" at the with Year 9 students https://t.co/9ITCfU8sIS

17/05/18

Retweetd From Louise Martin

Setting up for a great day experiencing all things with | do come and say hello if you’re about! https://t.co/gNh6fEaym7

17/05/18

beautiful images created at - this a silhouette of Ms Blair https://t.co/zDvgjtp8BN

17/05/18

- Year 9 enjoying the wonders of human endeavour at https://t.co/YdFxj4dPvl

17/05/18

Looking forward for the arrivals of Year 9 at today. https://t.co/hbONzbTs1o

17/05/18

Retweetd From HarrisSchoolDirect

Could you inspire students in ? We still have places available on our programme for Sept'18! Don't hesitate, apply via UCAS 1TZ today! &T https://t.co/W9KMI5oxCk

17/05/18

Our 2nd wonderful innovation day with stimulating trips to & for Year 9 and enterprise work for all https://t.co/5R7kvlA0MR

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints & Charging Policy

Charging

Harris Academy South Norwood provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors; when a student wishes to re-sit a module for the second time.
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

Parents can request paper copies of any information provided on the website free of charge. Please contact the school for this to be arranged.

To view our full Charging Policy please download at the bottom of this page


Complaints

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Executive Principal Mr Nick Soar at the Academy. The Complaints Policy makes clear the processes for dealing with complaints.

Please contact his PA, Charlotte Critchlow on

Telephone: 0208 405 5152
Email: info@harrissouthnorwood.org.uk

If your complaint is about the Principal then contact the chair of Governors via the clerk to Governors

Email: oconnells@harrissouthnorwood.org.uk
Telephone: 0208 405 5162

To view the Complaints Policy please download at the bottom of this page


Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer                                                                                                                                                                Harris Federation                                                                                                                                                                      4th Floor Norfolk House                                                                                                                                                    Wellesley Road, Croydon                                                                                                                                                              CR0 1LH                                                                                                                                                                              Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk                                                                                                                                            Tel: 0208 253 7777


To view the Privacy Notices please download at the bottom of this page


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing to the Harris Federation as above. Please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the Funding Agreement may be seen here. The Academies own Supplementary Agreement can be found below.

 

Back to Key Information