Twitter

21/07/17

Retweetd From What's On in Croydon

3 WEEKS: Up (U) | Stanley's Junior Film Club https://t.co/CpiQihhVsh

21/07/17

Interested in a career in engineering - spend summer looking at this https://t.co/MWFojVmffx

21/07/17

Retweetd From Louise Martin

Welcome to our and colleagues for September by our Executive Principal, Nick Soar https://t.co/AVFwJZZ4hp

21/07/17

Former student quoted in parliament https://t.co/MWFojVmffx

21/07/17

To all our staff and pupils over the long summer weeks. Stay safe. Rest. Read. Try the Shiver trilogy by Maggie Stiefvater https://t.co/UySbFg2vJz

20/07/17

We say farewell to one of the greats of Careers Education https://t.co/ieUJCSDf6s

20/07/17

Retweetd From Jonathan Limb

Beautiful afternoon for the staff Softball game, Britain and Ireland vs the Rest of the World! https://t.co/sxWJbaoUCO

20/07/17

Retweetd From Harris South Norwood

Our Summer Term 2017 Rewards Evening photos are now on the gallery page of our site: https://t.co/9OjB56vJJh https://t.co/LhWnmcppNI

20/07/17

Our Summer Term 2017 Rewards Evening photos are now on the gallery page of our site: https://t.co/9OjB56vJJh https://t.co/LhWnmcppNI

18/07/17

Retweetd From Liz

visit to see Fiona working hard with Jack Petchey team. https://t.co/A6Zm3q4tS6

17/07/17

Retweetd From EJ Gallery

Artist Tricia Trotman-Maraj work experience student; Saffron from https://t.co/4ue134NTUJ

13/07/17

Retweetd From Harris Federation

Jack breaks the record! Congrats huge 190! https://t.co/lQr9ld7aKS

13/07/17

thought you might like to see the victorious relay team https://t.co/U9Y6L7QjJS

13/07/17

Perhaps one for to explore

13/07/17

Retweetd From Kinetic Foundation

Congratulations. Maybe we can get your pupils interested in supporting this year. Looking for local support at the Arena!

13/07/17

News from Federation sports day Boys overall 2nd. Girls overall 5th. Outstanding - apart from the musical the best thing of the year

13/07/17

Retweetd From Louise Martin

Such pride for students competing Sports Day! Special note goes to the Active Science athletes. Wow!

13/07/17

you would have loved seeing the athleticism & expertise across all disciplines today at Sports Day https://t.co/7wzJ1x2Df3

13/07/17

Retweetd From Soarpoints

What makes humanity? Today 17 secondary schools stood in silence & applauded man of hope, grit, intelligence & so many prospects https://t.co/2g6D13fnxj

13/07/17

We stood (students & staff) as one Harris family to salute our wonderful teacher Michael, a man full of hope: full of optimism, grit & wit https://t.co/1v6AivYFwL

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

FOI, Privacy Notice, Complaints & Charging Policy

Charging

Harris Academy South Norwood provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors; when a student wishes to re-sit a module for the second time.
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

To view our full Charging Policy please download at the bottom of this page


Complaints

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Executive Principal Mr Nick Soar at the Academy. The Complaints Policy makes clear the processes for dealing with complaints.

Please contact his PA, Charlotte Critchlow on

Telephone: 0208 405 5152
Email: info@harrissouthnorwood.org.uk

If your complaint is about the Principal then contact the chair of Governors via the clerk to Governors

Email: oconnells@harrissouthnorwood.org.uk
Telephone: 0208 405 5162

To view the Complaints Policy please download at the bottom of this page


 

Privacy Notice

PRIVACY NOTICE for the school workforce employed or otherwise engaged to work at a Harris Federation school

Privacy Notice - Data Protection Act 1998

The Harris Federation are the Data Controller for the purposes of the Data Protection Act.

Personal data is held by the schools about those employed or otherwise engaged to work at the schools.  This is to assist in the smooth running of the schools and/or enable individuals to be paid.  This personal data includes some or all of the following:  identifiers such as name and National Insurance Number; characteristics such as ethnic group; employment contract and remuneration details; post “A” level qualifications; and absence information.

The collection of this information will benefit both national and local users by:

•    improving the management of school workforce data across the sector;
•    enabling a comprehensive picture of the workforce and how it is deployed to be built up;
•    informing the development of recruitment and retention policies;
•    allowing better financial modeling and planning;
•    enabling ethnicity and disability monitoring;
•    supporting the work of the School Teacher Review Board and the School Support Staff Negotiating Body.

We are required to pass on some of this data to the Department for Education (DfE)

If you require more information about how the DfE store and use this data please go to the following website:
•    https://www.gov.uk/data-protection-how-we-collect-and-share-research-data
•    If you are unable to access this website, please contact the Harris Federation or the DfE as follows:

Harris Federation of South London Schools
4th Floor, Norfolk House
Wellesley Road
Croydon 
CR0 1LH
Website: www.harrisfederation.org.uk
Email: Info@harrisfederation.org.uk
Tel: 0208 253 7777

Public Communications Unit
Department for Education
Sanctuary Buildings
Great Smith Street
London
SW1P 3BT
Website: www.education.gov.uk 
Email: info@education.gsi.gov.uk 
Telephone: 0370 000 2288

We will not give information about you to anyone outside the school, Harris Federation or the DfE without your consent unless the law and our rules allow us to.


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing to the Harris Federation as above. Please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the Funding Agreement may be seen here. The Academies own Supplementary Agreement can be found below.

 

Back to Key Information